Conservation PAC announces 2018 legislative endorsements

Tuesday, July 10, 2018
CONTACT: Dan Crawford, Director of Governmental Relations | | 919-839-0006 x102

Conservation PAC announces 2018 legislative endorsements
NCLCV sees opportunity to grow a Green Caucus

RALEIGH, N.C.—The North Carolina League of Conservation Voters (NCLCV) Conservation PAC announced its initial state legislative endorsements today.

Facing potential losses in its anti-environment majority, the desperate General Assembly has ramped up its protection of polluters’ profits over people’s rights to clean air and water. The farm bill shielded Smithfield Foods from legal accountability for infringing on the property rights of their farms’ neighbors. The budget failed to give the Department of Environmental Quality the resources it needs to detect and regulate GenX and other contaminants in millions of North Carolinians’ drinking water. It also punted yet again on the Jordan and Falls Lake rules implementation, letting developers continue to dump waste downstream.

In light of this legislative assault on North Carolinians’ basic rights, NCLCV is working to establish a Green Caucus—a group of environmental champions who will work to promote clean air, clean water, and clean energy for all North Carolinians.

Last cycle, NCLCV was instrumental in getting Roy Cooper elected governor, defending the Attorney General’s office, and flipping four House seats held by anti-environmental legislators. The 2018 cycle presents a huge opportunity for NCLCV to make further gains.

“Gov. Cooper has already done tremendous work reversing the McCrory administration’s damage, and acting as a bulwark against the worst environmental legislation coming out of the General Assembly,” said Dan Crawford, NCLCV director of governmental relations. “Our mission this year is to bring him the back-up he needs to uphold his vetoes, and to make headway toward turning the Green Caucus into a majority caucus, so that we can move a positive, pro-environmental agenda forward.”

Conservation PAC has endorsed the following champions who, once elected, will make strong environmental advocates:

North Carolina House

Darryl Moss — HD2 (Granville, Person)
Da’Quan Love — HD4 (Duplin, Onslow)
Tess Judge — HD6 (Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Pamlico)
Kris Rixon — HD9 (Pitt)
Allison Dahle — HD11 (Wake)
Penelope DiMaio — HD13 (Carteret, Jones)
John Johnson — HD16 (Columbus, Pender)
Marcia Morgan — HD19 (New Hanover)
Leslie Cohen — HD20 (New Hanover)
Zack Hawkins — HD31 (Durham)
Terence Everitt — HD35 (Wake)
Julie von Haefen — HD36 (Wake)
Sydney Batch — HD37 (Wake)
Barbara Yates Lockamy — HD46 (Columbus)
Lisa Mathis — HD51 (Harnett, Lee)
Frank Deese — HD55 (Union)
Ashton Clemmons — HD57 (Guilford)
Steven Buccini — HD59 (Guilford)
Martha Shafer — HD62 (Guilford)
Erica McAdoo — HD63 (Alamance)
Rick Foulke — HD68 (Union)
Jennifer Benson — HD69 (Union)
Terri LeGrand — HD74 (Forsyth)
Dan Besse — HD75(Forsyth)
Joe Fowler — HD76 (Rowan)
Wendy Sellars — HD80 (Davidson)
Gail Young — HD83 (Cabarrus, Rowan)
Allen Edwards — HD84 (Iredell)
Tim Barnsback — HD86 (Burke)
Greg Cranford — HD89 (Catawba)
John Worth Wiles — HD90 (Alleghany, Surry, Wilkes)
Ray Russell — HD93 (Ashe, Watauga)
Dianne Little — HD94 (Alexander, Wilkes)
Carla Fassbender — HD95 (Iredell)
Christy Clark — HD98 (Mecklenburg)
Rachel Hunt — HD103 (Mecklenburg)
Brandon Lofton — HD104 (Mecklenburg)
Wesley Harris — HD105 (Mecklenburg)
David Brinkley — HD111 (Cleveland)
Rhonda Cole Schandevel — HD118 (Haywood, Madison, Yancey)
Joe Sam Queen — HD119 (Haywood, Jackson, Swain)

North Carolina Senate

D. Cole Phelps — SD1 (Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrell, Washington)
Ginger Garner — SD2 (Carteret, Craven, Pamlico)
Joseph Webb — SD6 (Jones, Onslow)
David Sink — SD8 (Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender)
Harper Peterson — SD9 (New Hanover)
Wiley Nickel — SD16 (Wake)
Sam Searcy — SD17 (Wake)
Mack Paul — SD18 (Wake)
Kirk deViere — SD19 (Cumberland)
Helen Probst Mills — SD25 (Anson, Moore, Richmond, Scotland)
Michael Garrett — SD27 (Guilford)
Cheraton Love — SD29 (Davidson, Montgomery)
Jen Mangrum — SD30 (Caswell, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry)
John Motsinger — SD31 (Davie, Forsyth)
Beniah McMiller — SD34 (Iredell, Yadkin)
Caroline Walker — SD35 (Union)
Mujtaba Mohammed — SD38 (Mecklenburg)
Chad Stachowicz — SD39 (Mecklenburg)
Natasha Marcus — SD41 (Mecklenburg)
Art Sherwood — SD46 (Avery, Burke, Caldwell)

Also endorsed are the following incumbents who are already proven advocates for NCLCV’s values:

North Carolina House

Rep. Bobbie Richardson — HD7 (Franklin, Nash)
Rep. George Graham — HD12 (Lenoir, Pitt)
Rep. Deb Butler — HD18 (Brunswick, New Hanover)
Rep. Shelly Willingham — HD23 (Edgecombe, Wilson)
Rep. Jean Farmer-Butterfield — HD24 (Wilson)
Rep. MaryAnn Black — HD29 (Durham)
Rep. Marcia Morey — HD30 (Durham)
Rep. Terry Garrison — HD32 (Granville, Vance, Warren)
Rep. Rosa Gill — HD33 (Wake)
Rep. Grier Martin — HD34 (Wake)
Rep. Yvonne Lewis Holley — HD38 (Wake)
Rep. Darren Jackson — HD39 (Wake)
Rep. Joe John — HD40 (Wake)
Rep. Gale Adcock — HD41 (Wake)
Rep. Marvin Lucas — HD42 (Cumberland)
Rep. Billy Richardson — HD44 (Cumberland)
Rep. Charles Graham — HD47 (Robeson)
Rep. Garland Pierce — HD48 (Hoke, Scotland)
Rep. Cynthia Ball — HD49 (Wake)
Rep. Graig Meyer — HD50 (Caswell, Orange)
Rep. Robert Reives II — HD54 (Chatham, Durham)
Rep. Verla Insko — HD56 (Orange)
Rep. Amos Quick — HD58 (Guilford)
Rep. Cecil Brockman — HD60 (Guilford)
Rep. Pricey Harrison — HD61 (Guilford)
Rep. Evelyn Terry — HD71 (Forsyth)
Rep. Mary Belk — HD88 (Mecklenburg)
Rep. Chaz Beasley — HD92 (Mecklenburg)
Rep. John Autry — HD100 (Mecklenburg)
Rep. Becky Carney — HD102 (Mecklenburg)
Rep. Carla Cunningham — HD106 (Mecklenburg)
Rep. Kelly Alexander — HD107 (Mecklenburg)
Rep. Susan Fisher — HD114 (Buncombe)
Rep. John Ager — HD115 (Buncombe)
Rep. Brian Turner — HD116 (Buncombe)
Rep. Chuck McGrady — HD117 (Henderson)

North Carolina Senate

Sen. Erica Smith — SD3 (Beaufort, Bertie, Martin, Northampton, Vance, Warren)
Sen. Don Davis — SD5 (Greene, Pitt)
Sen. Dan Blue — SD14 (Wake)
Sen. Jay Chaudhuri — SD15 (Wake)
Sen. Floyd McKissick — SD20 (Durham)
Sen. Mike Woodard — SD22 (Durham, Granville, Person)
Sen. Valerie Foushee — SD23 (Chatham, Orange)
Sen. Gladys Robinson — SD28 (Guilford)
Sen. Paul Lowe — SD32 (Forsyth)
Sen. Jeff Jackson — SD37 (Mecklenburg)
Sen. Joyce Waddell — SD40 (Mecklenburg)
Sen. Terry Van Duyn — SD49 (Buncombe)

“We need more legislators like these environmental champions to grow our Green Caucus and protect the people of North Carolina,” said Crawford. “We strongly support their re-election and the election of these challengers who will hopefully soon join them.”

More endorsements will be released soon.

Conservation PAC makes endorsement decisions based on the environmental voting and leadership record of incumbent legislators, issue questionnaires sent to candidates, and other background information. NCLCV releases an annual Legislative Scorecard revealing how elected officials vote on key environmental issues. The 2018 Scorecard will be available in September. Previous scorecards are available here.