Our Endorsements

for Pro-Environment Candidates

Your vote on Election Day is one of the most important things you can do for the environment. We take the guesswork out of knowing which candidates will protect your air, water, and community’s health. 

NC Senate

Valerie Jordan3Bertie, Camden, Currituck, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Northampton, Martin, Tyrell, Warren
Kandie Smith^5Edgecombe, Pitt
Marcia Morgan+7New Hanover
Mark Speed11Franklin, Nash, Vance
Lisa Grafstein13Wake
Dan Blue*14Wake
Jay Chaudhuri*15Wake
Gale Adcock^16Wake
Sydney Batch*17Wake
Mary Wills Bode18Granville, Wake
Natalie Murdock*20Chatham, Durham
Mike Woodard*22Durham
Graig Meyer^#23Caswell, Orange, Person
Sean Ewing25Alamance, Randolph
Michael Garrett*27Guilford
Gladys Robinson*28Guilford
Mujtaba Mohammed*38Mecklenburg
DeAndrea Salvador*39Mecklenburg
Joyce Waddell*40Mecklenburg
Natasha Marcus*41Mecklenburg
Rachel Hunt^42Mecklenburg
Julie Mayfield*#49Buncombe

NC House

Ray Jeffers2Durham, Person
Gloristine Brown8Pitt
Brian Farkas*9Pitt
Allison Dahle*11Wake
Deb Butler*18New Hanover
Amy DeLoach20New Hanover
Ya Liu21Wake
Linda Cooper-Suggs*24Nash, Wilson
James Gailliard*25Nash
Vernetta Alston*29Durham
Marcia Morey*30Durham
Zack Hawkins*31Durham
Terry Garrison*32Granville, Vance
Rosa Gill*#33Wake
Tim Longest34Wake
Terence Everitt*35Wake
Julie von Haefen*36Wake
Joe John*#40Wake
Maria Cervania41Wake
Charles Smith44Cumberland
Frances Jackson45Cumberland
Garland Pierce*48Hoke, Scotland
Cynthia Ball*49Wake
Renee Price50Caswell, Orange
Robert Reives*54Chatham
Allen Buansi*56Orange
Ashton Clemmons*57Guilford
Amos Quick*58Guilford
Cecil Brockman*60Guilford
Pricey Harrison*#61Guilford
Ricky Hurtado*63Alamance
Sarah Crawford^#66Wake
Kanika Brown71Forsyth
Amber Baker*72Forsyth
Diamond Staton-Williams73Cabarrus
Carla Catalan Day74Forsyth
Mary Belk*88Mecklenburg
Terry Brown*92Mecklenburg
Christy Clark+98Mecklenburg
Nasif Majeed*99Mecklenburg
John Autry*#100Mecklenburg
Carolyn Logan*101Mecklenburg
Becky Carney*102Mecklenburg
Laura Budd103Mecklenburg
Brandon Lofton*104Mecklenburg
Wesley Harris*105Mecklenburg
Kelly Alexander*#107Mecklenburg
Eric Ager114Buncombe
Lindsey Prather115Buncombe
Caleb Rudow*116Buncombe

* incumbent
# endorsed before primary
+ newcomer endorsed in previous cycle(s)
^ incumbent running for the other chamber

Who Represents You?

Fill in your address and zip code below to find out which House and Senate districts you live in.

How We Craft Our Endorsements

Conservation PAC staff and volunteer committee members carefully evaluate candidates for state office. Our evaluation criteria includes a candidate’s responses to our written questionnaire, interviews, their environmental voting record, demonstrated leadership on environmental issues, and their commitment to improving environmental protections in North Carolina.

Our nonpartisan strategy focuses on re-electing leaders who have a clear record of support, finding new champions in open seats, and replacing anti-environmental incumbents with conservation champions. Our endorsements and resources are targeted on races where our efforts can have the greatest impact on electoral or policy outcomes.

Because NCLCV advocates for sound environmental policies at the state legislature, we do not make endorsements in local or federal races. We work closely with our colleagues at the national League of Conservation Voters to help inform their endorsements of North Carolina’s congressional candidates. 

We encourage you to ask all your candidates — whether local, federal, or those candidates not endorsed by CPAC — where they stand on environmental issues.

See All Years’ Endorsements

2022 Elections
2020 Elections
2018 Elections
2016 Elections
2014 Elections
2012 Elections
2010 Elections
2008 Elections
2006 Elections